Mission Statement

The mission of R.C. LaPerche Elementary School, as an inclusive learning community devoted to high standards and best teaching practices for all students, is to inspire life-long learning and to develop responsible, self-confident children capable of effective communication and problem solving, through a collaboration of parents, teachers, students, and the community, which fosters a safe, respectful environment, recognizing diversity and individuality.

New Assistant Superintendent Hired in Smithfield--August 22, 2017

Dear Smithfield Families, 

At its meeting last evening, the Smithfield School Committee named Sara Monaco as the Assistant Superintendent of Smithfield Public Schools.  

Currently the director of curriculum, instruction, and assessment for the Warwick Public Schools, Dr. Monaco is a former educator in Smithfield, serving as both a special educator and a reading specialist from 2002 to 2012.

We were honored to have had many talented educators apply for the position and are excited to bring Dr. Monaco back to Smithfield, where she served as a teacher prior to being an administrator in Warwick.  Dr. Monaco's skills and experience with federal grants, curriculum development, and professional development are a perfect match for our district.

As a director in Warwick, Dr. Monaco established and implemented a system of assessments and interventions as well as a curriculum development cycle.  She was responsible for the oversight of federal grants and professional development programming and curriculum revision.  Her skills include the ability to analyze district and school-level data inclusive of early warning indicators to engage others in the iterative process of data-driven problem solving and school improvement.

Dr. Monaco, a Smithfield resident and parent, earned bachelor’s and master’s degree in education from Providence College and was awarded a doctorate from Northeastern University in curriculum leadership.  

In its hiring process, a search committee, consisting of three teachers and six administrators, reviewed 34 applicants for the position.  Seven highly qualified candidates were interviewed, four of which returned for a second interview.  The final two candidates were interviewed by the school committee on August 7th.  

A special thanks goes to members of the search committee:  Eileen Crudele, Cathy Pleau, Paul Barrette, Holly Keenan, Judy Paolucci, John Burns, Ken Hopkins, Tricia Connell, and Vin Zibelli.
Judy Paolucci


Raymond C. LaPerche Elementary School is one of four elementary schools in the Smithfield Public School system. Our school is dedicated to Raymond C. LaPerche, a former teacher, principal and superintendent in the Smithfield Public Schools for 41 years. LaPerche first opened its doors in 1968 and presently serves students in kindergarten to grade five.